Interview: “Manipur is a state which celebrates women, ” Nimrit Kaur, Femina Miss India Manipur 2018

Nimrit Kaur Ahluwalia was recently crowned Femina Miss India Manipur 2018 in Guwahati, Assam. She is beautiful, intelligent and passionate woman who will never give up on her dreams. At 23, she has accomplished so many things in life be it working for charities, NGOs,  in theater etc.

The gorgeous beauty queen talks about her journey, Manipur and her preparations for the crown. Excerpts from the interview…

Congratulation on winning Femina Miss India Manipur 2018! How has your day been since winning the crown?
My entire journey so far has been extremely beautiful and overwhelming. My life has taken a new turn and I’m excited for what lies ahead.

Please tell us something about your life.
I am 23 and a final year law student. Being an army kid, I have lived in 8 states, so traveling and learning about new cultures comes naturally to me. I’m extremely passionate about theater and have been pursuing the same for over 15 years now. I’m also a sports enthusiast.

You have clearly expressed your desire to win Miss India crown for Manipur this year, Why do you want to win Miss India Crown? Is it a stepping stone to something else?
Miss India for me is an opportunity through which I wish to bring about a change in the lives around me. I want to work on human rights and spreading legal awareness amongst women and children worldwide.

With your win, you have showed the world the other side of Manipur i.e. it’s diversity and the voice that are hardly heard of! What would you like to show the world about Manipur?
I wish to show the world how Manipur as a state is extremely diverse and different. It is a state which celebrates women. We support Matriarchy. Whether it is having festivals in their honour or having the largest women run market. We also celebrate Transgenders which speaks volumes about our acceptance towards people in the society. And it is this kind of acceptance that is needed to make the world a better place to live in.

Few people are of the opinion that only a native girl should represent Manipur. What would you say about it?
I believe that every individual is entitled to their own opinion and I absolutely respect the same. I will continue to work hard just as I did before and make sure I promote my state, it’s people and our values wherever I go.

What’s the one thing that you are proud of Manipur the most?
That we as a state promote and give our women their due.

You’re a lawyer and have worked with NGO’s. What motivates you to join beauty pageant?
I believe a beauty pageant gives you a platform that turns you into a force to reckon with. A voice that now people want to hear. I wish to use the opportunity that has been served upon me to bring about a difference in the lives around me.

Who is your favourite Miss India and why?
Priyanka Chopra is my favourite Miss India. She never fails to take us by surprise by her beautiful vision and determination.

If you win the crown, what will you do apart from preparing for the next international pageant?
I would love to associate myself with as many social causes as possible and make sure I use my legal education for the betterment of our nation.

Being a lawyer and coming from a military background, do you think hard work and discipline are something that comes naturally to you?
Yes, indeed. These are the two qualities that I completely associate myself with and are the reason where I am today.

How are you preparing for Miss India pageant?
I make sure to keep myself focused and to value every second.

What would you be your strengths that will give you an edge over others and weaknesses that you need to improve for the pageant?
I believe that my biggest strength is my passion for what I do. I am a perfectionist by nature which is something I would like to work on.

 

Leave a Reply